Skip to content ↓

Nottingham Girls' Academy


Mr A Sharpe – Deputy Principal

Mr C Green


The BTEC National Subsidiary Diploma in Applied Law is made up of six units - three mandatory core units and three specialist units, which explore particular topics in more depth.

In Year 12 all students take four units:

  • Unit 1: Dispute Solving in the Legal System (core unit)
  • Unit 2: Understanding Law Making (core unit)
  • Unit 3: Aspects of Legal Liability (core unit)
  • Unit 4: Unlawful Homicide and Police Powers*

In Year 13 the following units are taken:

  • Unit 7: Consumer Law*
  • Unit 10: Aspects of Family Law*

* The choice of optional units is dependent on the needs, aspirations and nature of the group


All units are coursework-based and graded, and an overall grade for the qualification is awarded. The units are internally assessed and graded by teachers. An overall grade for the qualification is awarded upon successful completion of all units. Grades awarded are at Pass, Merit or Distinction level equivalent to 1 ‘A’ level.

The Future

The course is vocational, helping to prepare students to enter the modern world of work, Modern Apprenticeship or to continue their studies at University. Coursework assignments are practical in nature and encompass real world learning at all times.

For further information about the syllabus visit the following web address: